Iterative estimators ("bayes filters") in Edward?

Hello all,

I’m a post-doc researcher working on self-driving vehicles. I’ve recently learned of probabilistic programming languages, and I am looking into how they could be used to solve problems in autonomous driving. I’ve got particularly hooked on Edward and how it enables mixing together deep learning networks and probabilistic techniques.

I plan to give a presentation on Edward to my lab next Thursday. I would like to present a simple demo showing how it could be used to do online estimation of a robot’s position and speed from an input stream of noisy position sensor readings. The problem is that I can’t wrap my mind around how a predict-update loop would be implemented in Edward. I’ve seen a couple examples using tf.scan but I’m not sure that’s what I need.

Could anyone give me a hand?

1 Like

To handle streaming data, the easiest place to get started might be with the Bayesian linear regression example. Instead of calling inference.run(), you can manually write the training loop:

# placeholders on data, where we will pass in values during training
X_ph = tf.placeholder(tf.float32, [None, D])
y_ph = tf.placeholder(tf.float32, [None])

inference = ed.KLqp({w: qw, b: qb}, data={X: X_ph, y: y_ph})
inference.initialize()
tf.global_variables_initializer().run()

for _ in range(inference.n_iter):
  X_batch, y_batch = next_batch()
  info_dict = inference.update({X_ph: X_batch, y_ph: y_batch})
  inference.print_progress(info_dict)

Here, next_batch() produces the next batch of data available to us. For example:

def next_batch():
  M = 10  # batch size
  w = np.ones(D) * 5  # true parameters
  x = np.random.randn(M, D)
  y = np.dot(x, w) + np.random.normal(0, 0.1, size=M)
  return x, y

This performs one update of inference for each new batch of data. You might also run update() multiple times for each new batch.